Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Wide angle + general purpose m43 lens, speedbooster?
  • Hi,

This is my first post to this forum, so hi :)

I am a total amateur photographer. I shoot video and photos for my hair salon/store small business (interviews, tutorials, promos). My boyfriend got me a GH3 for my birthday, and it is really the best of both worlds. I'm just starting to get into the details of the camera functionality, but already, my videos and stills are looking incredible.

I got the camera with the panasonic 25mm 1.4 lens (50mm eq. on a 35mm camera). So it's great for portraiture, interview tutorials, but I would like some additional flexibility, so I've come here for some general purpose recommendations.

for wide angle, right now I am considering the Olympus 12mm f/2 or the Panasonic 7-14. Both are in the 700-900$ range. For general purpose, I was thinking of getting the new panasonic 14-140 3.5-5.6, since it has Image Stabilisation and I understand I would be needing that at any length over 50mm full frame equivalent. This lens is currently selling on amazon for $600.

For the price of these two, I am wondering if I should splurge a little more and get the Panasonic 12-35mm f/2.8. I can live without a zoom more than without a wide angle.