Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
DVD authoring programs
  • So i've been using Encore to author any dvds but CC doesn't support it any more. what other programs are out there that lets me have the same controls. I'm a poor student so i'm looking for the most affordable program.

• 23 Replies sorted by
  • Look at Magix Editors. I di not make any DVDs for years (in fact MKV on USB flash is much more suitable format).

• I have the CC but still using the Encore CS6, hope for a upgrade from Adobe to the Encore.

• I thought Adobe had officially dropped Encore but includes access to the CS6 version for CC users. The CS6 version works for me.

• Same for the Mac: Apple dropped FCP 7 aka "Studio" altogether, but DVD Studio Pro still works (well, I didn't try Maverick). You can buy a legit copy for little money these days.

If you still need DVDs, it's a good program.

• If you still need DVDs, it's a good program.

Question is - why you need them at all?

• For subtitling applications (museum display) I still use media server hard-drive bue with DVD or Blu-Ray -format playback (no optical disks involved), simply because the DVD / Bl-Ray spec allows for lots of languages and character sets, eg European and Asian.

• For subtitling applications (museum display) I still use media server hard-drive bue with DVD or Blu-Ray -format playback (no optical disks involved), simply because the DVD / Bl-Ray spec allows for lots of languages and character sets, eg European and Asian.

Sorry, I do not get it. You can add any number of subtitles to MKV. As much as you like.

• so can you make 'DVD' style menus in a MKV container?

• so can you make 'DVD' style menus in a MKV container?