Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
LIFE STORIES
  • Last night I was out in Bars here in Barcelona with a friend and we were into telling stories - life stories. A lot of fun. This morning I woke up and I thought, why not making an off-topic about stories in PV?

Here is one of mine to start with:

EX AND POP

It was in Berlin 9th of November 1989, the day the ''Mauer'' (the wall) came down. At this time I was a film student at the Berliner filmschool DFFB (German Film and TV Academy). We were living with my recently born son and my wife on top of the Berliner ''escape museum'' at Checkpoint Charlie. To maintain my studies and my family I was part time working as a camera assistant for the news department of the ZDF (German second TV channel), but the correspondent studio was based in the east side of Berlin. In the Ex DDR.

This morning I took my car, drove through the checkpoint, 500 meters further on, to our east side studios, smiled to the STASI (east Germanys secret service) guys just in front on the other side of the street, who were always starring at us through their windows, and went into the studio.

As you know, these were troubled days. Everybody in the studio knew, that in any moment something really heavy could happen. And it happened in the afternoon, when East German top politician Guenter Schabowski suddenly announced in this famous press conference that any citizen of East Germany (DDR) could freely cross from now on the border to the West.

The Sony Betacam cameras in 1989 didn't have an image stabilizer and the tripods were shaking as we were filming one of world human history most important moments.