Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Flow Motion v2 vs. Moon Trial 5 opinions. Please?
  • Hello,

I'm a film student in my last year and I am doing my senior projects. I have a GH2 that I hacked with the Moon Trail 5 settings after asking some classmates and doing some research. And I am very happy with how my projects are coming out with Moon, but I have this nagging feeling that I didn't do the right thing. Now I've done some more research and a lot of people have been using Flow Motion v2. There doesn't seem to be anything out there directly comparing the two. And because of my ignorance of the terminology used when talking about the hacks, I can't figure it out for myself.

So now I am asking for some opinions about the two hacks compared to one-another. What are they good at? What are they bad at? Which one is the best bet if you want to make films and not do a ton of color grading?

Thanks for reading all that.

• 29 Replies sorted by
  • My humble opinion is that they can't be compared. Apples to Oranges. Moon is very, very good as are most of Nick's settings. They are geared for more specific shooting situations though.

Flow Motion is also very good but more forgiving (Again IMO) and better suited for general applications.

720-60 which is the Achilles Heel of the GH2, seems better with Flow Motion thus better for outdoor sports.

I think a better comparison would be Sanity Vs Flow Motion.

• Forgive my ignorance again but,

1.I heard (read) that a lot about Driftwood's settings but I have not able to figure out which one the best for my situation.

1. When you say "720-60", what are you referring to?

Edit: I am having some weird formatting issues here.