Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
What am I missing? (GH2 hacks not spanning)
  • Just need to know if this is an SD card issue. (this is my first time hacking my GH2)
    I'm using a 16 gb SanDisk Extreme Pro (95mb/s) card. (I also tried a run of the mill SanDisk 16gb Extreme card 45 mb/s)

I realize that neither of these cards are listed in the wiki concerning cards but the Extreme Pro is supposed to be a good card. Anyhow: I first tried Sanity 5.1 My record time in 24p 24H was really short. (maybe 20 seconds or so?) switching to 24p 24L yielded about a minute of record time. I tried the full manual mode and ran the "HD" setting for quality and got about 2 minutes. Everytime is says that the record time has exceeded the write capacity of the card. Oddly, I seemed to get better results with the cheaper card. It ran well over 3 minutes on 24p 24L, but still just over a minute on 24H.

I also tried Cake version 2.2 (I think) on the Extreme Pro card and it was terrible, record times were like 10 seconds or less. 720P was like 8 seconds.

The reason I picked both those patches is I wanted reasonable bit rates/files sizes and good reliability and spanning.

Any ideas? Could it really be the cards?
    Just for the record, after loading the patches my camera said "this card is not formated to this camera and not suitable for recording" (or something along those lines) is that typical?

If there is a thread that deals with this just point me there, no offense taken...my searches didn't turn up a clear answer.

thanks! -Greg

• 11 Replies sorted by
  • @jasonp

A new topic isn't always necessary when you have a simple problem or misunderstanding,

LOL. It is ok, beginners category is made for such topics.