Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Adobe Audition compression for broadcast
  • Hi there,

Any recommendation on the workflow for broadcast. The sound source is a mono microphone.

At the moment I start by converting in stereo and then normalising it; I am struggling with the effects as which one to use for compression.

The sound I record is usually interviews in public places which sometimes has background noise. And on some occasions I record live street music.

I'd love to hear your views. ( I am a newbie with audition and sound engineering)

Thanks, Hakura

• 6 Replies sorted by
  • Compression - now that's a kettle of fish :)

First - a good read http://www.barryrudolph.com/mix/comp.html understand what a compressor is and is used for. Not all audio need compressing, depending on the end result required, riding the volume (essentially what a compressor is doing for you) on the dialogue track yields far less artifacts (pumping, clipped fronts of words and background noise) and more pleasant results and should be the first port of call before you roll out the track slammer :)

Compressors used correctly can help, but also can butcher dialogue if thrown on without a bit of planning. Best thing to do is experiment with your DAWS compressor(s) and A/B the dialogue regularly to make sure it's not becoming flatter than a flat thing, leaving a bit of dynamic in the voice and gently squeezing can add density without pumping.

Lots of videos in youtube e.g.

Multiband compression is another story!

I'd skip the normalising as that will rob you instantly of headroom and save that (if using it at all!) until the end when you have levelled out the elements in the mix.