Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Any before and after sample video (gh2)
  • Does anyone have, or has anyone seen posted, some before-hack and after-hack videos samples. I've found many video samples with hacks installed but none with any "before hack" comparison videos.

I'm a noob, however I have managed to download and install a couple of different hacked firmware versions. Other than 4x larger file sizes, I didn't see dramatic changes, however I'm not a trained eye I'm not completely sure what my expectations are supposed to be?

Thank you

• 10 Replies sorted by
  • dhood, You just answered your own question, if you can not see the difference, or do not know how the improvement in higher bitrate (less compression) can help, go back to stock.

You only need to satisfy yourself, if you can not see a difference, than remove it to save file space as you mentioned.

Face it, if the overall image quality of the GH2 was not any good, Vitaliy would have never implemented the hack in the first place. Perform your own tests and particularly look at fine detail especially in low light.

• I'm just trying to get educated. Everyone has to start somewhere.

• There are before and after videos floating around on youtube, vimeo, this forum and elsewhere. One of easiest to spot differences if you want to test yourself is when filming fences, telephone wires, vertical fences where the bars are close together etc etc.. without the hack their will be a wiggle/jello look, with the hack it is either gone or greatly diminished. Also be sure you are viewing on your PC after uploading it, not just running the cable to the TV, also a big difference. I do have to say though, you probably didn't look to hard for comparison videos. Just type "GH2 Hacked VS". Good luck.