Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
AVCCAM Importer for FCP7
  • It looks like Panasonic has provided a new Importer function so that FCP7 can import and edit AVCCAM footage natively without conversion. I've just downloaded it and will start testing. Has anyone else given this a try?

https://eww.pass.panasonic.co.jp/pro-av/support/desk/e/avc_download.htm#avccamip
  • 15 Replies sorted by
  • Sounds interesting.
  • I think it is very old news
  • Okay. New to me, though, and I haven't seen any news on it. Has anyone used it edit MTS files natively in FCP7? Does it work well?
  • Well I didnt know that either so I do appreciate the info :) Id rather not jump ship to Premiere just yet as I have been using FCP for so many years...but this whole trans-coding to Prores HQ at a measly 22/26MB is really starting irritate me.Ill try this later today if I get a break at work.
  • Agreed. I will most likely migrate to Premiere with the next rev, but for now, I have so many projects in FCP, it's hard to break away. Being able to edit native files would speed my production and it sounds like it may retain better quality on high bit rate footage.

I didn't realize that ProRes HQ had such a low bit rate ceiling. Is this true? Is there somewhere you could recommend for me to look into this further?
  • What are people using? The importer doesn't work well on high bite rate hack like the ones that driftwood makes. On other low bite rate hacks, it works fine. Or at least you need a better machine with lots of memory and processing power. I have an iMac 27" icore 3 with 8GB of memory and on Driftwood 'SeAQuake, play back takes for ever. It works but it just shows signs of the machine not powerful enough.