Personal View site logo
Sound Devices 833 Recorder
  • 18 Replies sorted by
    • 6 ultra low-noise, all-new microphone preamplifiers
    • 8 channels, 6 buses, 12 tracks
    • 6 analog outputs
    • Ultra-accurate timecode
    • 256 GB internal SSD, 2 SD card slots
    • USB-A and C ports for SD-Remote app, linear fader control via MCU, keyboard, and file transfer
    • Dugan Automixing for up to 8 channels

https://www.sounddevices.com/product/833/

• I'll be buying one.

• Can hardly ever get by with six preamps these days.....

• Can hardly ever get by with six preamps these days.....

It is an 8 channel recorder, with 8 analogue limiters (5 more than the 633!).

What are you doing which requires more than 6 inputs? The vast vast majority of my work can be done with that, and I'm a full time professional sound mixer.

And I could count on one hand the number of times I "needed" more than 8 (but I didn't use more than 8, I just survived with what I had, because there wasn't budget for more).

• @IronFilm Fair question! I make music videos. For any typical event that I film, whether it is theatre, dance, concerts, whatever, I like to have a reasonable number of mics to cover the soundfield.
    But, even if I was using four, I would always like to have eight so I can split the XLRs before the preamps for a full backup at a different gain.
    There's other reasons to have eight, like talkback channels. etc.
    For a video like this, I use 8-12 mics.

• But, even if I was using four, I would always like to have eight so I can split the XLRs before the preamps for a full backup at a different gain.

Sounds like the Zoom F8n would be perfect for you with its dual level recording.

Or the MixPre10 Gen2 with its 32bits.

• There's other reasons to have eight, like talkback channels. etc.

833 has a dedicated coms, so you don't need to use up one of your recorded ISOs.

• @Ironfilm
    "Sounds like the Zoom F8n would be perfect for you with its dual level recording."