Personal View site logo
SANITY 4 and 5.1
  • 1139 Replies sorted by
  • @mee

I enjoyed your video.

I see you have the Nokton 17.5mm f0.95. This is a lens I'm very much interested in, but I'm concerned about reports I've seen about curvature of field. Supposedly when the lens is focused at infinity, it's unable keep the center and edges in focus at the same time. Could you possibly check that out? Thanks.

• SANITY 5.1 UPDATE

I have been shooting exclusively with Sanity 5 for eight months and never had a single problem with it - until last week. Here's a frame grab. Yikes, what a mess!

Over the months, a couple of people reported problems similar to this. At the time, I assumed it was card related. It is not. And to these people, I apologize. But until last week, I had no way to reproduce the problem myself. Although this image breakup is rare, it obviously can happen.

SANITY 5.1 fixes this and prevents it from occuring. I strongly recommend SANITY 5 users install the update.

SANITY 5.1 works reliably in all shooting modes - 24H, 24L, FSH, FH, SH, H, HBR, ETC in all modes, and all variable frame rates.

I did extensive spanning tests of SANITY 5.1 and it's the same as SANITY 5 with one addition - ETC spans when shooting in 24L mode. Here are the patch notes for spanning:

Spanning works in 24L, FH, SH & H modes. When spanning, do not go above ISO 5000. Spanning works with ETC in 24L mode. Do not go above ISO 3200. Spanning does not work with ETC in any other mode. Spanning works in HBR mode with third party manual lenses. Do not go above ISO 3200. Spanning does not work reliably in HBR mode when using lenses with electrical contacts.

Enjoy, and good shooting!

Whata mess.jpg
    1920 x 1080 - 419K
    Sanity 5.1.zip
    994B