Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Korg i3 Music Workstation - Music Industry also stuck
  • 13 Replies sorted by
  • there's only so many variations to a traditional keyboard. And midi 2 and mpe are here. Osmose has stretched the design but it's expensive and untested as to it's reliability. Roli is also expensive and has durability problems. So keyboard design is poised to enter a new universe. They guy who solves the mpe keyboard problem will get the beans. The touchkeys idea has promise but has gone dormant. The Osmose is really a beautiful board but lacks long term durability feedback. As a mechanical designer myself, I can't fathom how those keys will last being played at 360 gigs a year. There's keith mcmillan ....no moving parts for $900 bucks. The alternative isomorphic keybeds like linnstrument and notemode on launchkeys waste alot of space with dublicate notes. I've spent the last year playing with about 10 isomorphic instruments on ipad and they're good for lead solos but not for playing complex two-handed sounds. Now back to Korg, Roland, Yamaha etc. It appears from this years namm, opening tomorrow, but with many releases already public, they're all playing the high end trying to maximize profits on tried and true technology, before mpe arrives to the lower end. No one will pay $2000 and up for a digital piano with scaled hammer action when $500 will buy a mpe board.

• this looks so 1998 lol , reminds me of older keyboards. I'm a vst and sound library guy now, I stopped buying the latest and greatest synth or workstation since the PA3X from Korg. I'm a much happier man now

• @kurth

Note that issue is same to cameras market - lot of Japanese firms holding to proprietary tech.