Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
DryLin Linear Motion Low Cost
  • Just found these- DryLin make industrial Linear Motions.
    Low cost because they come 'as is' - DIY holes etc... No issue whatsoever!

FOR IMAGE ONLY- PROBABLY NOT BEST PRICE:
    http://www.amazon.com/DryLin®-W1080-Linear-Motion-Sliders/dp/B003Y54PPY
    21LwkXkQKUL._AA300_.jpg
    300 x 300 - 5K
    Drylin_Linear_Slides_Linear_Rails.jpg
    494 x 202 - 27K
  • 20 Replies sorted by
  • I have been looking at this diy slider too this link might help you out http://www.zazaslider.com/instructions.html
  • I've been using this for a few months. I like it. To control it properly, I move the plate with 2 hands rather than push the camera or mount. It will give you some great shots if you put the rails on a tripod head and then add a slight incline, tilt, etc. depending on what you're after. I bought the one that you have to drill and thread the screws yourself (no pre-drilled threads). Doing it really frees you up to do whatever you want. I'm adding holes for lights, etc. so it can be a light rack when its not a slider.

• I just ordered the W-1040A via Amazon Prime for around $95

• I found this site that sell a motor for the Igus slider: http://www.b-hague.co.uk/hague_motorized_camera_slider.htm You know others?

• Never really looked into motors but wow that looks great!

• Not a huge fan of the Igus slider. It came missing four bolts, no holes in the carriage plate, and three of the four silicon bearings broke / fell out within three months of getting it. And their customer service is some of the rudest I've encountered.

• @Kihlian would be better to drive the slider by means of a toothed belt.