Personal View site logo
NLE alternatives to Premiere?
  • 50 Replies sorted by
  • I find Edius is themost responsive of all nle on the market,problem with edius is it can only render to downsampled 422 output,not good for compositing

• Is Edius here to stay though? I thought that Grassvalley was in financial difficulty?

• I've been running Vegas since about 2008 and have not yet found another NLE that is as efficient, easy to use AND stable. I like that the inexpensive Movie Studio version now natively supports magic bullet looks, which used to only run under Pro before. It seems to render faster than performing color correction in CS5. Eventually I may go back to Vegas Pro for the EDL export support, as apparently there are scripts available that will allow Vegas timeline import into After Effects, which would be very convenient to have available on certain projects.

• I wish Avid wasn't in such financial trouble: they are one of the few software companies whose entire livelihood depends on the professional film and audio markets. ...Maybe Pro Tools 11 will give them a bit of a bump. Fingers crossed.

• Is Edius here to stay though? I thought that Grassvalley was in financial difficulty?

Where you hear about their issues.

I only see that all their software development is moved to Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur.

• I been mostly afraid to admit it, but I've been working with Sony Vegas Movie Studio, and it does the job for me. hopefully I can save for Pro since I got a new 'puter with a little bit of GHz, Hard drive space, RAM and 64bit.

There are some alternative NLEs mostly for free. Surprised no one's mentioned Blender as I can recall that it does or export 4K - be aware that the whole software itself has a learning curve. As for a Flash-like, After Effects-like experience, I'm trying out Synfig.