Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
General Questions on Filters for DLSM Video
  • Being a Newbie I've been somewhat confused about selecting and the proper use of Filters in particular for Video on a DSLM like the GH1/2.

1. If I use a Polarizer does that negate the need for a UV Filter?
    2. If I use a Variable ND does that negate the need for a Polarizer?
    3. Is there a negative effect from using several different types of filters let say a UV, Polarizer and Vari ND all at once or is there a net positive effect from using all 3?
    4. What is the best pattern to organize the filters on the lens if using a variety of filter types. ie. Vari ND 1st, then Polarizer, then UV?
    5. Is it best to buy the best SET of filters from the same brand or the best individual filters from different brands.
    6. Is there some kind of rating system for Filters that can be used to compare their effectiveness? ie effect on sharpness, color etc. How would someone actually choose one filter from another to find the best one if there is no rating system? Is there a really reliable resource on the Web?

Sorry if there is some thread that covers this, but I haven't come across any that concisely address this topic.

• 10 Replies sorted by
  • @ DouglasHorn - I totally agree. I just shot a commercial with F3- pix240 just because the EP didn't want the client to think that we were skimping. We easily could have pulled off a similar look with the hGH2.

I use 4X4 NDS, Cons and ND Grads. I also use a Fader for quick/stealth shooting.