Personal View site logo
Make sure to join PV on Telegram or Facebook! Perfect to keep up with community on your smartphone.
Please, support PV!
It allows to keep PV going, with more focus towards AI, but keeping be one of the few truly independent places.
Screenwriting software
  • Looking for something free? Well, I've been using Celtx on and off for many years. It is great and you can get it for both Mac and PC for free. You can also get advanced features by paying for it, but you can do so if you really need those features or want to support them.

Check out the free version at http://www.celtx.com if you want to try out a free screenwriting program.

celtx.png
    640 x 447 - 44K
  • 16 Replies sorted by
  • I've used it for a long time too. I don't like Final Draft, it's pricey and once they come out with a new version, they won't give you an activation code for older version. Basically you lease FD.

• I use Celtx for daily work and it's a good piece of software: easy to use, fast, and has a lot of possibilities on a production environment. The cons for me: The mobile version is not multiplatform. They won't do an Android version for working on the road... they've made an iOS version and think that's enough... a pity.

• Celtx is good but "Final Draft" Its great

• Celtx Plus is on special for $9.99 .. $5 bucks off

• Just wanted to mention Apple's Pages (from iWork) has template for scriptwriting. You can't get any reports like from Celtx or Final Draft, but it can be very useful just for the formatting the script. Celtx generates with PDF exporting, especially if you write in some other language than English and in general is a bit buggy.

• Not a fan of Celtx, it just seems so half assed, it also seems as though their focus is all over the show, I don't want all the post production stuff in my screenwriting software.